Uncategorized

Change to be thankful for

I’ve lived in several different homes. The one I grew up in, the one I shared with three amazing girls in college, several apartments in Queens as a “working adult in the city”. A few days ago, TJ and I said goodbye to the first home we shared together, an apartment with a decent commute to our jobs in Manhattan, to move into our forever home in the “country”. (I put country in quotes, because while I see more wildlife then people on my commute to the train station every day, I am hesitant to commit to being a country girl…)

img_7817

The change feels really good. My parents came down to help us move in and unpack. Seeing my Dad and TJ sitting on the couch as I peered into our family room, I had an overwhelming sense of everything being exactly the way it was supposed to be.

The process for us to buy this home was not easy. We first saw it in April but didn’t end up closing until mid September. This is NOT normal, even for NY! So much of the time I felt like we were trying to put a circle peg into a square hole with the process, but I am so so so thankful that we stuck with it, gave where we needed to and held strong when necessary.

TJ and I are very fortunate and I am so grateful. My parents always taught me that hard work will always pay off, the easy way out is never the way to go. This is basically the way TJ and I approach life. Sometimes I complain that we are going crazy because of the decisions we’ve made, but in reality I love it. I love the feeling of reward from hard work and sacrifice. It inspires me and makes me work harder…

So here is to the next chapter in our lives, and the crazy, stressful adventures it brings!

xo

Standard

Leave a comment